WORLD HEPATITIS DAY

image

28/07/15
My alarm rings. I bolt out of bed. There’s much to do today. It’s World Hepatitis Day. I had already sent out bulk sms to my customers inviting them to Elbeth Community Pharma Plus for

a Hepatitis lecture and Hepatitis B test afterwards ALL FOR FREE. (We supplied a nearby medical lab with 100 Hepatitis B test kits and they were willing to carry out the test for free on our behalf). Thank God Grandma is around to help with the kids.

I go through my usual morning rounds and dash to the Pharmacy to oversee the setting up of the canopies, cbairs, projector, power supply, etc.

By 10am, we are set. We have a sizable number already seated so I start my lecture on Hepatitis. First I explain what Hepatitis means. Then I talk about the various types of Hepatitis: Drug-Induced, Alcohol-Induced and Viral-Induced. I go and on….

image

30 minutes later and I’m through with my presentation. and take questions. (Many are hearing for the first time that Paracetamol is a leading cause of Drug-Induced Hepatitis).

image

Participants then proceed to the lab for testing. Of the 58 that show up at the lab, 2 people come out positive. One elderly man and a young mother.

Even though Baba was not experiencing any symptoms, the family took the matter quite seriously. They came to seek my advice on what to do. I gave a referral note to him and sent him to see a consultant in that field.  Vaccination was recommended for the members of his household, after they had all tested negative.

28/07/16
Baba has undergone his treatment. His last test was negative for Hepatitis B virus.  His family took the whole 3 vaccine schedule and have protection for life.

Hepatitis B virus is now the leading cause of Hepatitis (inflammation of the liver). Early detection is key to s uccesful treatment.

Take heed!
This virus  is more deadly than the AIDS virus
It kills more people than HIV
It spreads faster than HIV
Hepatitis B virus is still looking for more people to attack
It doesn’t have to be you
Get protection
Take the Hepatitis B vaccine today

School Children
Day care workers
Nursery & Primary school teachers
Health workers
Those who take injections frequently
Are more at risk of getting Hepatitis B infection

image

Elbeth offers Hepatitis education, testing and vaccination service to interested groups at discounted prices. Contact us today.

Leave a Reply

