Get Over It!

“Ma, someone would like to see you.”
I sit up straight, suddenly anxious.
“Male or female?” I ask.
My Support Staff smiles knowingly.
“It’s a woman, ma” she replied.
I relax.
“It’s ok. She can come in.”
“Good evening ma.”, I greet my client as she enters my office.
“Please have your seat”
“Good evening” she replies.
Suddenly the smile on her face disappears and is replaced by shock.

“What are you doing?” She asks in bewilderment.
Foolish question.
“Breastfeeding, of course”, I reply smugly.
“You mean this BABA is still breastfeeding? ”
“Yes o!”
“How old is he?” She still couldn’t fathom it.
“One year and ten months”
“And you are still breastfeeding!”
“Yes ma” I’m really enjoying myself. This woman has forgotten the reason for her visit to the the Pharmacy. I have become home video! 😂
“I breastfed his sister for 2 years. He too is getting the same treatment”
“Na wa for you o!”
Yes, na wa for me!
I am a proud advocate of breastfeeding. I did exclusive breastfeeding for my kids for 6 months. Then I continued complementary breastfeeding till they were 2 years!

image

It’s World Breastfeeding Week.
Over the next few days, I will let you know why I am so passionate about breasfeeding and why women should embrace it.

Leave a Reply

